Windows 10 has several protection mechanisms, and on more than one occasion, they work protecting the user from themselves. However, there’s always that occasion when the general security profile begins to get in the way, and a recurring element is SmartScreen. The plan is that this component protects us from phishing attacks and malicious downloads, but if you already know that the software or the site you want to enter is safe, there is always the possibility of disabling SmartScreen, at least temporarily….
SmartScreen: Another moving target
Now, it’s likely that someone wonders why an article dedicated to disabling SmartScreen in Windows 10 is necessary. The answer lies in the very nature of the operating system and the decisions Microsoft makes in the background. Each major Windows 10 update moves additional elements to the Settings menu, changes their position entirely, or even adopts another name (that happened with SuperFetch, for example). In other words, most online guides have become obsolete, and we are forced to review the process.
(Editor’s note: Based on the latest Windows 10 build at the time of writing, 20H2)
How to disable SmartScreen
- Go to Settings
- Go to Update & Security
- Click on Windows Security
- Click on App & browser control
- Go to Reputation-based protection settings
- Disable all options there: Check apps and files, SmartScreen for Microsoft Edge, Potentially unwanted app blocking (unchecking Block apps and Block downloads) and SmartScreen for Microsoft Store apps.
Obviously, the security system in Windows 10 will proceed to insult you in four different languages, anticipating suffering and multiple calamities in the short term.
Conclusion
Disabling SmartScreen is not more complicated than before, but no one can deny that Microsoft decided to hide the options a little more. Beyond the warnings (logical and well-founded, I must add) that the operating system makes about it, the truth is that you have the right to experiment with your computer. Tread carefully, and don’t forget that it’s very easy to revert the configuration to its original state. Good luck!