One day you've said enough. Enough of narcissism, fake scenarios and fake news, constant self-promotion and celebrity endorsements, the absurd quest for perfection, and ignorant influencers. Instagram has changed completely in the last ten years, and not necessarily for the better. If you're reading these lines, you want to know how to delete an Instagram account; today we'll share the exact process.
"Delete Instagram Account": The "Trap" of Deactivation
The behavior of social networks is more or less similar: once you're in, they'll do everything possible to keep you from leaving. In the specific case of the Facebook universe, that tactic also extends to Instagram. So if you're determined to delete your Instagram account, you'll most likely first be offered the suggestion to take a breather and temporarily disable it.
If you think that's a better alternative for you, you'll need to log into your account from a computer or a mobile browser (it doesn't work from the app), click on your photo, go to the Profile section, click Edit Profile again, and scroll down to find the option Temporarily Deactivate My Account. Instagram will ask for a reason and for you to enter your password again to confirm. Reactivation is as simple as logging in, but if your plan is to go all the way and delete it, you need an extra step…
How to Back Up Your Instagram Data
A valid suggestion from Instagram is to download a copy of the information you've shared before requesting the removal of your profile. This is possible from the app or via browsers, and although the precise instructions are published here, the process boils down to:
- Tap your profile photo
- Go to the menu and then to Settings
- Enter Security (or Privacy and Security) and then Download Data
- Enter an email address and tap Request Download
- Confirm with your password, Next, and Done
Instagram explains that sending the download link to your email address can take up to 48 hours, but in practice it rarely takes that long. Another curious fact is that the process isn't perfect. Instagram mentions that "Some data you have deleted may be stored temporarily for security and protection reasons, but it won't appear when you access or download your data."
How to Delete an Instagram Account
- First of all, delete all copies of the app you have on your devices, as they store copies of your credentials and could interfere.
- As with temporary deactivation, deleting an Instagram account requires logging in through a browser, whether mobile or desktop. Log in with your credentials and click this link.
- Then you'll need to choose an option in "Why do you want to delete your account?" (apparently Instagram is dying to know), and enter your password. Finally, click "Delete my account permanently".
Is that all? Well… yes and no. “Yes” when it comes to user action, but “No” if we consider the natural delay in the process. 30 days must pass for the deletion to become official, and up to 90 days from the start of the deletion process to purge everything that has been published on your profile. Needless to say, we recommend avoiding any login attempts during that period.
In Summary
Fortunately, deleting an Instagram account isn't the nightmare some imagine. All you need is a browser, access to the correct section, and a little discipline not to fall into temptation and log back in. We understand that many users get some value from the platform, or need it for their personal projects; however, reasons to close an Instagram account are abundant these days. Good luck!