The story is new, but it feels very familiar: Facebook tries to make a change, people react by escaping its platforms, and the social network spends weeks under "damage control" explaining its reasons. This time, the central element is WhatsApp. Facebook tried to adjust its terms of use, millions of people left the messenger, and if you're reading this, you're probably thinking about doing the same. Here's how to delete your WhatsApp account, permanently.
WhatsApp: Old Mistakes, New Problems
A bit of context: In recent days, Facebook made several adjustments to WhatsApp's terms of use, and for the end user, the whole process boils down to two options: accept the changes, or abandon the messenger. After analyzing and interpreting those terms, millions of users responded by fleeing WhatsApp, adopting alternatives like Telegram or Signal. As expected, Facebook panicked and started its damage control.
On one hand, the social network decided to postpone the implementation of the new terms until May 15 (originally it was February 8), and on the other, its representatives indicated that they would use that time to clarify the "confusion" and "disinformation" circulating on the web. This isn't the first time something like this has happened at Facebook, and it definitely won't be the last. If you're tired of all that, today we'll teach you how to delete your WhatsApp account.
How to Delete Your WhatsApp Account Easily
- Open WhatsApp
- Go to the Settings (three vertical dots on Android, Settings on iOS)
- Enter the Account section.
- Tap Delete Account
- Enter your phone number and tap Delete Account again.
- Specify the reasons for your departure.
- Tap Delete Account a third time.
- Read the warning and confirm the definitive deletion.
Conclusion
Just like with other services in the Facebook universe, the WhatsApp data purge can take up to 90 days, and the company reserves the right to keep elements such as anonymized logs, but there's no possibility of restoring or undoing the changes: If you decide to delete your WhatsApp account, it's permanent. Finally, remember that you can deepen your exit from the Facebook ecosystem by learning how to delete your Instagram account.