Recently, the Mountain View giant enabled a new feature to download our complete search history. And when I say complete, I mean there could be entire years of information in the package. Google's intention is to give users more control over their personal data, but deep down we're convinced that such a history should not exist. The most logical and probably safest option is to delete it.

How to Delete Your Google Search History
Google

The Eternal Privacy Debate

The discussion is always the same. On one hand, companies insist that they need our information to improve the overall experience of their online services. On the other, users highlight the fact that they don't need all that information. The reality is that Big Data has no intention of discriminating. Just searching for something like a spark plug set on the Web guarantees that at some point during our session (or why not the next day) an ad will appear offering discounts on car parts. Now, try to imagine for a moment everything you have ever searched on Google… and the responsibility of downloading a complete copy on your computer.

How to Delete Your Google Search History
Google

Downloading Your History

Well, it turns out you can do it right now. Google recognizes the importance of such an action, and consequently presents a warning that each and every interested party should look at closely. The package contains personal information, period. If you want a local copy, you'll have to be very creative to keep it safe, and it would be crazy to download something like that on public computers or open wireless networks. All you have to do is visit the Google history section, click on the gear, and choose "Download". The copy will be ready in a matter of minutes, and it will appear stored in Google Drive. The file format is JSON.

Deleting Is the Real Solution

Now, if all this makes you feel uncomfortable, the truth is that I can't blame you. How is it possible that Google has information about a search you made two or three years ago? Another example: have you ever searched for your home on Google Maps? In that case, Mountain View already knows where you live. Fortunately, the solution is simple: Delete all your history, and pause its recording. If your Web history is enabled, in the same link we shared above you'll see the option to purge the content, and a pause button that interrupts its function. Google will continue to record part of your activity for security, spam, and service optimization reasons, but deleting your history is emerging as a more decisive alternative than downloading a copy.

How to Delete Your Google Search History
Google

Access your Google Web history: